Recipes GALORE!

One-Skillet Paleo Mediterranean Chicken Recipe

Hello everyone… I have been on the hunt for some really tasty and new recipes and I have found just a few that I will share…

I have been on the 10 Day Detox Diet – I hate the word diet… I prefer food plan – but it is a way of life for me. My health has taken a back seat for some time since I became my mother’s care giver… unfortunate for my health, but a good thing for mom.

I am now focusing on getting my health back… changing back to a healthier way of eating, simply by being more conscious of what I eat, exercise… something that has been gone from my life for far too long. I always loved being at the gym, swimming laps, weight training etc… but it all took a back seat during a prolonged illness and then caring for mom.

Without getting into more details… I am focusing on the recipes. I have quite a collection of some really great recipes but I end up with a few favs and move on looking for more to keep as my favorites.

I fell in love with Deviled Eggs as a child but the Mayo is a big downfall for me… I LOVE THE STUFF! and only Cains Mayo will do for me. In getting healthier eliminating it has been a challenge aside from cutting it out completely… how do I cut down without making my own. Someday I will get there! Just not enough time in my schedule yet… I am still caring for mom even though she is in a nursing home.

Decorative Deviled Avocado Eggs

Deviled Eggs… got off track here… so here it is… Deviled AVOCADO Eggs… It took me a few times to get it right but oh my!

This recipe is for individual servings…

2 Hard Boiled Eggs, peeled and halved lengthwise

1/2 avocado

a splash of lime juice for the avocado (to keep it from turning brown)

1 tsp Gulden’s Mustard or Dijon Mustard

Salt and Pepper to taste

IF you like spicy… add a dash of hot sauce.

brush the surface of the cut avocado with the lime juice.

Seperate the egg yolks from the whites, setting the whites aside, placing the yolks into a bowl large enough to accomodate them and the 1/2 of avocado.

Add the avocado, mash well making sure to combine well… add the mustard of choice, S & P, hot sauce if you like it, combine and stuff your egg whites.

I will say they are REALLY overstuffed but I am sure you will really enjoy them.

You can get adventurous, adding chopped cilantro, diced roma tomatoes, use a pastry bag with a star tip and make them quite decorative for a party platter or just to enhance your own dinner plate. The combos are endless but I hope you enjoy…!

Decorative Deviled Avocado Eggs Deviled Avocado Eggs

I am a lover of Buffalo Chicken… but the fried part is just a big no no for me, here is an amazing alternative accompanied by my newly found love of Avodadoes…

I found this recipe on an amazing website…   Paleo Newbie… this is an amazing place with lots and lots of really great recipes… LINK: http://paleonewbie.com/welcome/

This recipe came from this web page…

From <http://paleonewbie.com/simple-paleo-buffalo-chicken-recipe>

Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Avocado          Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Avocado

  Ingredients

Buffalo Sauce

  • 1 cup of paleo-approved mayonnaise – whip up our Paleo Mayo or go with your favorite
  • 2 tsp of dried parsley
  • 1 tsp dried dill
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup Frank’s Hot Sauce (original version, not the flavored ones)

Chicken

  • 3 cups of shredded cooked chicken (we used a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken)

Veggies

  • 3/4 cup shredded carrots
  • 3/4 cup chopped celery
  • 3 green onions, chopped

Instructions

  1. In a medium bowl, add the shredded chicken and chopped vegetables
  2. Next add in the buffalo sauce…about 1/2 cup at a time and mix it around until you get the consistency you want
  3. Spoon it on a pitted avocado half, scoop it on top of a bed of lettuce, or wrap a lettuce leaf or a Paleo Tortilla around it.

You really should check them out for more terrific recipes… if you are a pork lover you will find a great variety of recipes there as well… I just don’t eat pork – a personal choice.

If you haven’t guessed it by now… I am a recipe junkie… I collect and collect… much like my grandmother did. I never realized just how many recipes she had until I had the task of cleaning out her kitchen when she passed away… there is this rather LARGE DEEP draw in her kitchen… my kitchen… that was 3/4 full of recipes she cut from magazines, newspapers etc… recipe books… just a mess of recipes. 2/3 of them just vanished because some family members helped themselves and were never to be seen again. so unfortunate!

I had the good sense to spend a lot of time with Gram making some family fav’s and writing everything down. It was so much fun and I know she had a blast because she LOVED to cook. Gram spent several years in Long Island NY during the depression. Gramp was a stone mason so there was always work for him. She spent a large amount of her time getting to know other imigrants to the US and sharing recipes. She became “quite the cook” making french classics, chinese food that was second to none… Polish foods… and I have most of those recipes! She made all the food for my wedding shower and it was all chinese food. The guest raved about it and wanted to know what restaurant it came from… of course she slyly said…Helen’s Kitchen. The response was where is that restaurant, it does not sound familiar to me at all? she would reply… upstairs… in my kitchen. Yup… her name was Helen. Of course you can’t see the huge smile on my face, I have such great memories of her… she was an amazing woman who I had the real pleasure of leading to the L_rd a hour before she passed. That is another story for another day because it was AMAZING! Can you imagine hearing your grandmother actually talking to Yeshua… and what she told me he said to her!!! I think I will keep you guessing! JUST AMAZING!

Here are a three of my favorites from the Paleo Newbie website:

Macadamia-Crusted Chicken with Honey-Mustard Sauce

<http://paleonewbie.com/paleo-macadamia-crusted-chicken-honey-mustard-sauce/>

Macadamia-Crusted Chicken with Honey-Mustard Sauce

Macadamia Nut Chicken Salad

<http://paleonewbie.com/paleo-macadamia-nut-chicken-salad-recipe/>

Macadamia Nut Chicken Salad

One-Skillet Paleo Mediterranean Chicken

 <http://paleonewbie.com/one-skillet-paleo-mediterranean-chicken-recipe>

One-Skillet Paleo Mediterranean Chicken Recipe

Leave a Reply

